CTODP Formula One

Motorsports Blog

This content shows Simple View


The Monaco Formula 1 Hall-of-Fame

monaco-grand-prixWhen it comes to reviewing the best drivers in Formula One, pundits tend to disagree on who qualifies. This is because different conditions and cars cumulatively determine success in the whole season. However, it is easier to review the best of the best on one circuit.

Monaco Grand Prix; The Champions Factory

The Monaco GP has always featured among the most gruelling and at the end of the day, it is a kiln for champions. With the 2015 Monaco Grand Prix only a few months away on 21st to 24th May,this is the best chance to review who deserves to be in the hall-of-fame of this circuit. Take a look:

Graham Hill Monaco 1963Mr. Monaco, Graham Hill

He redefined cool with his slicked-back hair but that was not what makes him a Monaco legend. With the first win in 1963, quickly followed by another in 1964 and 1965, it was obvious a legend had been born. Two more wins in 1968 and 1969 made him the ultimate Mr. Monaco.

Ayrton SennaAyrton_Senna_1992_Monaco

Can any Formula One legends’ list be complete without Senna? Of course not; the Brazilian stands apart with six wins from just ten attempts. What’s more, his racing was simply out of this world.

He raced as if his life depended on it and his manoeuvres are still terrific by modern standards. From his first battle with Alain Prost in 1984, it was obvious more was to come and from 1987, he became a Monaco specialist.

Alain Prost 1984 MonacoAlain Prost

His name is etched in F1 history as one of the best drivers to sit in a racecar. With four wins at Monaco, he was the master of the streets before Senna came into the picture. It is amazing that no other driver apart from the two won on the Monte Carlo streets between over a 10 year period from the mid-80s to the early 90s.

Michael Schumacher 2010Michael Schumacher

Forget the 2006 incident where he blocked the circuit and denied Fernando Alonso pole position; Schumacher is still one of the greatest on the streets. With five wins in Monte Carlo since 1994 when driving for Benetton, he fits snugly on the hall-of-fame list of Monaco.

There are of course other legends who have lit the streets of Monaco. They include Jackie Stewart and Stirling Moss both with three wins, Juan Manuel Fangio, Mark Webber, Fernando Alonso and Nick Laudia each with two wins.

Monaco Grand Prix is a major test even for the best drivers. All these winners went on to become the best in the sport. Make sure you don’t miss the Monaco GP 2015 as more legends will be born. We can recommend SenateGrandPrix.com for tickets and hospitality packages in Monaco 2015